Interreg V-A Greater Region Programme –

RECOnversion des Territoires par la Transition Ecologique (repurposing land for ecological transition)

What is the RECOTTE project?

The RECOTTE project is funded by the Interreg V-A Greater Region programme

The RECOTTE project is centred on the repurposing of land for ecological transition at a local, cross-border level.

The European Union and its member states have set out frameworks to encourage regional communities to initiate a process of transition, but local authorities seem insufficiently organised and equipped to respond to climate change and the energy transition. They also have high expectations, particularly in technical terms, when it comes to implementing specific policies and measures as put forward in the European Green Deal and National Energy Climate Plans.

Ecological transition must be a gradual progress and enjoy the backing of a number of different stakeholders. It cannot be achieved without the involvement of citizens and institutional support, and this is the only means of stimulating the changes necessary to adapt our ways of life and fostering a universal acceptance of the objectives and measures to make ecological transition a success across national frontiers.

That being said, at a local cross-border level, the dynamics of the transition process in one country are not necessary the same in another country, and the national border remains an obstacle to joint action on both sides of a national frontier.

One of the goals of the RECOTTE project is to bring together relevant stakeholders in local cross-border communities and draw attention to shared and complementary aspects of efforts to achieve ecological transition in three specific target cross-border areas.

The RECOTTE project is geared towards accompanying and assisting local stakeholders in their ecological transition processes while leveraging potential cross-border synergies and inviting local stakeholders to become involved in pivotal joint projects.

Our ambition

To propose an innovative methodology to define cross-border priorities and initiatives at a local level that are aimed at achieving ecological transition

To help implement a resilient cross-border system that is able to prioritise creativity and innovation in the face of future environmental, economic and social risks and rise to the challenges of ecological transition

To test this methodology on three cross-border urban centres in former industrial areas of Wallonia, France and Luxembourg that feature varying circumstances and intensities of cross-border cooperation: the Alzette-Belval cross-border area, Messancy/Aubange/Pétange/Kaerjeng and Arlon/Steinfort

Our objectives

Accompany and assist local communities and stakeholders in resolving any issues linked to the ecological transition

Propose a means of realising this accompaniment and assistance in a cross-border context

Supporting elected officials and local actors in urgently changing their behaviour in the face of climate risks

Redefine cross-border cooperation as an ecological necessity rather than in terms of economic development

Identify potential courses of action

The project managers

The RECOTTE project will be led by five project managers, with one project lead taking overall responsibility

opérateur pilote

Projet Interreg V A Grande Région - RECOTTE

RECOnversion des Territoires par la Transition Ecologique

Le projet RECOTTE, c'est quoi ?

Le projet RECOTTE est financé dans le cadre du programme Interreg V A Grande Région.

Le projet RECOTTE traite de la reconversion des territoires par la transition écologique à l’échelle locale transfrontalière.

Bien que l’Union européenne et les Etats membres ont défini des cadres pour inciter les collectivités territoriales à prendre le virage de la transition, les communes semblent insuffisamment organisées et appareillées pour répondre aux enjeux climatiques et énergétiques ; elles ont, en outre, de fortes attentes notamment en termes techniques pour mettre en œuvre concrètement les politiques et mesures définies, à l’instar du European Green Deal ou des Plans nationaux Energie Climat.

La transition écologique doit être réalisée progressivement et être portée par une diversité d’acteurs. Elle ne peut se faire sans une implication des citoyens et un appui institutionnel pour stimuler les changements nécessaires à l’adaptation de nos modes de vie, afin de viser une appropriation par tous des objectifs et des moyens pour réussir la transition écologique de part et d’autre des frontières.

Cependant, à l’échelle transfrontalière locale, les dynamiques de transition ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes d’un pays à un autre, et la frontière nationale reste un obstacle pour mener des actions communes sur différents versants.

L’un des objectifs du projet RECOTTE est donc de faire se rencontrer les acteurs impliqués dans ces territoires frontaliers locaux et de mettre en évidence les convergences et les complémentarités existantes en matière de transition écologique sur trois espaces transfrontaliers ciblés.

Le projet RECOTTE vise donc à accompagner les acteurs locaux dans leurs démarches de transition écologique, en faisant émerger des synergies transfrontalières potentielles et en invitant les acteurs locaux à co-construire des projets leviers pour mener des actions communes.

Notre ambition

Proposer une méthodologie innovante pour déterminer les priorités et les initiatives à mener en transfrontalier au niveau local en matière de transition écologique

Organiser la résilience du système territorial transfrontalier en privilégiant la création et l’imagination pour faire face aux risques environnementaux, économiques et sociaux à venir et répondre aux défis de la transition écologique

Tester cette méthodologie sur trois pôles urbains transfrontaliers wallons, français et luxembourgeois de l’ancien bassin industriel qui présentent des configurations et des intensités différentes de coopération transfrontalière : l’agglomération transfrontalière d’Alzette-Belval ; Messancy/Aubange/Pétange/Kaerjeng ; Arlon/Steinfort

Nos objectifs

Accompagner les communes et les acteurs locaux par rapport aux problématiques liées à la transition écologique

Proposer une méthode de travail pour mettre en œuvre cet accompagnement dans un cadre transfrontalier

Accompagner les élus et acteurs locaux dans le changement urgent des comportements face aux risques climatiques

Repenser la coopération transfrontalière, non plus envisagée sous l’aune du seul développement économique mais sur la nécessité écologique

Identifier des actions potentielles à mettre en place

Les opérateurs

Le projet RECOTTE est conduit par cinq opérateurs et encadré par un opérateur pilote.

opérateur pilote